Tampere Filharmonia
  • English
  • Finnish

Fri 10.09.2021 at 19:00


Tampere Hall, Iso sali

Yliopistonkatu 55, 33100
Tampere, Finland

Caroline Shaw (b. 1982): Entr'acte for String Orchestra
Dmitry Shostakovich (1906–1975): Piano Concerto no. 1 C minor op. 35 
William Grant Still (1895–1978): Serenade
Antonín Dvořák (1841–1904): Symphony no. 7 D minor op. 70

Shostakovich’s first piano concerto features renowned Russian pianist Dmitry Masleev in his debut performance in Finland. The concerto gives the trumpet an equally solistic role. The featured trumpetist is Tampere Philharmonic’s own Alessandro Chiavetta. Dvořák’s Seventh is often featured in lists of the greatest 19th century symphonies. It is a nationalistic piece that draws on the composer’s love for his Czech heritage. The orchestra is led by conductor Joshua Weilerstein, praised internationally for his intense and fluid conducting style.

Alternative Concert Programme

If the Finnish coronavirus restrictions regarding events and concerts continue in Fall 2021, The Tampere Philharmonic will play two concerts per night (6 pm and 8 pm) with a modified programme to accommodate reduced audience capacity and safety distance requirements. The alternative concert programme for this concert is:

Dmitry Shostakovich (19061975): Piano Concerto no. 1 C minor op. 35 
Antonín Dvořák (18411904): Symphony no. 7 D minor op. 70


Ticket type
Basic Ticket 28 €
Pensioner 22 €
Student, Unemployed or Conscript 15 €
Children (5 to 16 yrs.) 8 €

Season Passes for Fall 2021 and Full Season 2021–22 go on sale on Tuesday June 1st 2021 at 9 am for customers that have previously purchased the Season Pass in 2020–21. Season Pass sale opens up to new customers in August 2021. Single ticket sales begin on August 16th at 9 am.

More to see at Tampere Hall