Afternoon of Fauns: And transfigured was the night…

15.00 - 17.00
Tampere Hall, Yliopistonkatu 55, 33100 Tampere
Tero Ahonen
Sergei Taneyev: String Trio in B minor
Little Grande Trio: Lotta Laaksonen, violin, Anne Korhonen, viola and Maija Juuti, cello

Francis Poulenc: Sonata for flute and piano
Nina Johnson, flute and Hanna-Leena Savolainen, piano

Arnold Schoenberg: Verklärte Nacht Op. 4 for string sextet (after a poem by Richard Dehmel)
Katri Nikkanen, violin, Riikka Marttila, violin, Kimmo Kivivuori, viola, Taavi Nachtigall, viola, Virpi Välimäki, cello and Sampo Liukko, cello

The Afternoon of Fauns sweeps you away on a wildly imaginative journey from the fertile grounds of Russian romanticism to the brilliant cosmic glow. Sergei Taneyev's unfinished yet profoundly mature string trio, published years after his passing, blossoms with a rich sound. Contrast this with Francis Poulenc's playful flute sonata, brimming with humour and joy in a quintessentially French way, while Arnold Schoenberg's early love drama finds transcendent bliss amid the passion.

The concert includes an intermission and will last about two hours.

Tickets: Adults 17 € / pensioners 10 € / students, unemployed, conscripts and children under 18 yrs 7 €. You can buy tickets from the Tampere Hall ticket office, Aplodi and the Lippupiste online store (Lippupiste adds service fees and possible shipping fees to ticket prices).
15.00 - 17.00
Tampere Hall, Yliopistonkatu 55, 33100 Tampere