Afternoon of Fauns: Dancing and Strumming

15.00 - 16.45
Yliopistonkatu 55, 33100 Tampere
Sanni Ala-Heikkilä

Adolf Busch: Quintet for alto saxophone, two violins, viola and cello / Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: 5 Fantasiestücke / Jessie Montgomery: Strum for string quartet

Adolf Busch: Quintet for alto saxophone, two violins, viola and cello Op. 34
Kalle Oittinen, alto saxophone, Erkki Louko, violin, Hanna Parviainen, violin, Anni Tiainen-Hammo, viola and Sirja Nironen, cello


Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: 5 Fantasiestücke op. 5
Terapia q quartet: Lotta Laaksonen, violin, István Szalay, violin, Anne Korhonen, viola and Maija Juuti, cello

Jessie Montgomery: Strum for string quartet
Terapia q

Adolf Busch played a key role in establishing the saxophone as an instrument for chamber music. His Quintet broke boundaries by incorporating the recently invented instrument into a more traditional string configuration.
Jessie Montgomery’s light and playful Strum takes cues from North American folk melodies and the motion language of dance. Set to the rhythm of strumming and plucking, the composition glides from one mood to another ranging from wistful nostalgia to vivid jubilance.
Samuel Coleridge-Taylor paved the way for later composers with African roots and gained great popularity on both sides of the Atlantic at the turn of the 20th century. Nicknamed the Black Mahler, his five fantasy pieces are prime examples of his late Romantic style in their lyrical harmonies.

The concert is hosted by composer Minna Leinonen.
15.00 - 16.45
Yliopistonkatu 55, 33100 Tampere
Buy tickets online, click "Additional Information" link! Adults 17 € / pensioners 10 € / students, unemployed, conscripts and children under 17 yrs 7 €
Additional information
Tampere Filharmonia
Additional info