Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra: The Rite of Spring

19.00 - 20.30
Tampere Hall, Yliopistonkatu 55, 33100 Tampere
Tero Ahonen
Matthew Halls, conductor
Alban Gerhardt, cello

Edward Elgar: Cello Concerto
Igor Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

Two landmark works of the 1910s in one concert! Considered an expression of sadness, nostalgia, and resignation, the Cello Concerto was the last and perhaps most celebrated work by Edward Elgar. Cello guru Alban Gerhardt interprets a wistful farewell to a life and a world that would not be restored from the ashes of the Great War. Perhaps the most brutal ballet music in history, Igor Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring, with its fierce rhythms, primitive chords, and bloodlust of the human species, is one of those classics whose impact burrows from the ear canals straight to the core.

The concert is part of the orchestra's subscriber series, which includes a Pre-concert talk (Teokset tutuiksi) at 6 p.m. and childcare (Lapsiparkki, 10 €) at 6:45 p.m.

The concert has an intermission. The concert ends around 8:30 p.m.

Tickets: Adults 30 € / pensioners 24 € / students, unemployed and conscripts 15 € / children under 17 years 10 €. You can buy tickets from the Tampere Hall ticket office, Aplodi and the Lippupiste online store (Lippupiste adds service fees and possible shipping fees to ticket prices).
19.00 - 20.30
Tampere Hall, Yliopistonkatu 55, 33100 Tampere